bittersweetbaker

Gingerbread Ice Cream

In Ice cream on December 2, 2011 at 5:57 pm
From Adriana Baking

Late into the summer, Jana from Zuckerbaeckerei emailed me asking if I’d be interested in guest posting for her in preparation for Christmas. I didn’t hesitate in writing back right away to accept.  Because she blogs in German, she explained that she would translate my post for her readers. You can read my post in German on the 19th here!

I knew that I wanted to make a recipe of my own to share (though I haven’t had much practice doing so), and that I wanted the recipe to embody wintertime. I wanted it to emulate the sharp spiciness of gingerbread and the frigidity that blankets the world come December.

Though winter has made its presence clear with its bitter wind nipping color into my cheeks and forcing me into thick sweaters, my insatiable craving for ice cream has remained as strong as it was last summer.  It was with that realization that I found myself trying to replicate the exact taste of gingerbread in hopes of transforming it into ice cream. And my experimentation worked.

The resulting ice cream was complete with the juxtaposing warmth of the spices and the chill of the ice cream. It couldn’t have painted winter onto my palate any better.  Ginger, cinnamon, cloves, and the full-bodied flavor of molasses are the wool blankets I find myself enveloped in every evening. The iciness is the cold world outside. Together, they are winter.

From Adriana Baking

Thank you so much for having me guest post, Jana!

Gingerbread Ice Cream
A Bittersweet Baker original
1 ½ c milk
1 ½ c cream
2/3 c sugar
Pinch of salt
5 egg yolks
1 cinnamon stick
¼ t cloves
1/8 t nutmeg
½ t ginger
½ c molasses

Warm the milk, ½ a cup of cream, the sugar, salt, and spices in a medium saucepan, and heat on low until steaming. Remove from heat and allow to infuse for 1 hour.

Combine the remaining cream and molasses in a large bowl, and set a strainer on top.  Whisk the egg yolks together, and slowly temper them into the hot milk mixture. Continue to cook slowly on medium heat, until the custard thickens ad coats the back of a spoon.

Remove from heat and pour through the strainer into the cream and molasses. Mix to combine, and let cool to room temperature, stirring occasionally, then place in the refrigerator at least one hour.

Once cold, churn in ice cream maker to manufacturer’s directions.

  1. I’ve never been daring enough to make a recipe of my own 🙂 Your gingerbread ice cream recipe sounds like it turned out to be amazing- and it looks so too! I have ice cream cravings in winter too- and I love eating ice cream in winter because it doesn’t melt as fast!

    btw, I tried to click on the link to your post, but it didn’t work!

  2. This recipe makes me excited for the Holidays, I can’t wait to make! Sounds fab and will be bookmarked- thanks!

Leave a Reply

