bittersweetbaker

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

In Chocolate, Cookies on October 24, 2010 at 2:41 pm
From Adriana Baking

It first hit me three weeks ago.  My high school held a college fair that memorable afternoon in September, hosting colleges from all over the United States. It was intended for juniors and graduating seniors, though freshmen were invited to participate. As I watched the representatives set up their booths, draping tablecloths over their stands and slowly transforming the field into a rainbow of school colors, my classmates started to talk. The buzz of anticipation and the hubbub of their impressionable chatter enveloped me, surrounded me, left me out. I realized with slow certainty that  each one of my friends had their lives planned out, theirs careers set. I- wants to study architecture and S- dreams of becoming a nurse, while T-‘s mind is set along the lines of psychology. Or was it medicine? And each one of them had an answer to the questions posed – what field are you interested in? What do you want to study? Not only can they answer without doubt masking their words, they know exactly which career they want to pursue. As for me, I don’t even know what I’m not interested in studying. I am completely undecided.

From Adriana Baking

Those same words were my response to a representative who inquired about my studies. “Good, good,” he approved, a smile playing at his lips.

For the rest of the day I was put at ease. While my classmates made a game out of collecting the most brochures, then after school, as I clicked the silver lock dangling from my locker shut, I thought about his response. Did he believe that it was too early for a freshman to know for certain the path they wanted to travel? As I reflected on it, I came to the conclusion that the greater part of my friends were choosing careers their parents had chosen years before them. And they were all similar – doctors, engineers, architects, lawyers, businessmen and businesswomen. Though I have no idea what I want to become, I know that whatever I decide to study will be something I am passionate about. I want to wake up in the mornings excited to go class, eager to learn. I want to spent hours on end, from dew dappled dawns to golden afternoons, to frigid, star speckled nights learning.

From Adriana Baking

Though baking is one of my greatest loves, I can’t picture myself in the kitchen as a career. It’s a hobby, no matter how obsessive, that I want to keep at home – it relaxes me, and I don’t want this to change. But there are so many interesting subjects to learn about, so many fields to specialize in. And naturally, writing comes to mind. Few things give me greater joy than digging out from the deepest recesses of my mind a post. A poem to share and a story to recount. As with everything I write, words flow from the tips of my fingers once the frustrating bouts of writer’s block have passed and I begin to type. My fingers find little resistance to the fading plastic keys of the keyboard; I have so much to tell, so much to describe.

From Adriana Baking

Like these beautiful chocolate crinkle cookies. The way their deep chocolaty undertones peek out from under dazzling white mounds of confectioner’s sugar, a sugary spider web if looked at from far. How the sugar falls off in clumps before melting on your tongue. And such perfect texture – moist, chewy, and dense enough to provide your teeth with ample resistance before gliding into a void of chocolaty euphoria. The few  rolled in a mixture of granulated sugar and vibrant, red chili pepper flakes were a favorite. The chocolate slowly rounds out on your palate, smooth. Then suddenly, unexpectedly, the sharp heat of the chili troops across the roof of your mouth, leaving every surface of your skin radiating strong, peppery heat.

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies
From All Recipes via 17 and Baking
Makes about 7 dozen cookies

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 cups white sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar

In a medium bowl, mix together cocoa, white sugar, and vegetable oil. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt; stir into the cocoa mixture. Cover dough, and chill for at least 4 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Roll dough into one inch balls with lightly oiled palms. I used a size 50 cookie scoop to portion the dough, a tablespoon or rounded teaspoon would also work depending on what size you like. Coat each ball in confectioners’ sugar before placing onto prepared cookie sheets. [Alternatively, try other ingredients like cinnamon-sugar or sprinkles.]

Bake in preheated oven for 10 to 12 minutes. Let stand on the cookie sheet for a minute before transferring to wire racks to cool.

  1. Those look really really good 🙂
    I agree with you, you should study about something you’re passionate about, because most likely your going to be stuck with it for the rest of your life. And if you don’t like it…well that won’t be good at all.
    I suppose I could imagine myself working with food as a profession…one thing I’d actually really like to do is open a cute little bakery of my own. That probably won’t happen though…and if it does probably wayyy later in my life 🙂
    I think writing is good choice for you, your writing is amazing 😉

  2. You’re such a good writer! You should really consider that. If words would just flow out of my hands like it does for you… You’re also an amazing photographer and baker!! (: These look amazing!

  3. If it’s any help, I changed possible career paths more times than I care to remember in my final two years, and even then I wasn’t entirely sure whether I made the right choice, but I’m doing law now, and I love it. Writing definitely seems a possibility for you, you’re definitely talented with words! 🙂 And if you enjoy it, it’ll make uni/college so much easier

  4. Your chocolate crinkles are great! I never considered rolling them in sugar and chilli! Great idea! Don’t panic about career choices. Often times careers find you. Just follow your heart and you will find true joy in your life’s journey.

  5. These are one of my favorite cookies. Great photos!

  6. Adriana – these cookies look amazing. I’m printing the recipe now, and I’ll definitely be making these soon. Rolling them in sugar and chili is SUCH a genius idea – I love chocolate and chili together. YUM! Also, I had to tell you – you write beautifully. Don’t stress about not knowing what you want to do yet – I didn’t really know what I wanted to do until I was two years into college. And guess what? After graduation, I ended up in a completely different field. Things have a way of working out, especially if you go after something that you’re truly passionate about. 🙂

  7. i love these cookies. I make them at christmas because they always seem so christmassy. these look delicious!

  8. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jeannie Choi, Adriana Smith. Adriana Smith said: [New Post at Bittersweet Baker!] Chocolate Crinkle Cookies: http://bit.ly/ayoxMI […]

  9. Trust me you do not need to know now what you want to do right now, you are still very young. As you get to pick more of your classes in high school you will slowly form a idea of what you want to do, and your friends I’m sure will change their minds over the course of the next few years many times. I love these cookies, and I never though to put chilli in them what a awesome idea. Also great close up shots!

  10. I agree with Marcellina…just follow your heart and you’ll figure it out! On another note, these cookies look great! I love how much powdered sugar there is coating them!

  11. I simply love the amazing close up picture of chocolate crinkle cookies. What camera do you use? I love cooking but picture taking is something I need more work on.

  12. Gorgeous little cookies – the chili variation sounds fantastic – must make some myself. Thanks for sharing!

  13. MMM… one of my all time favorite cookies. My mom made these for me a few years ago and I think I ate most of them myself!

    Good for you for following your heart, you often remind me of my daughter, though she is a few years behind you at 11 years old. I wish I had your talent for writing! I understand what you mean about keeping something your hobby. I love photography, but when someone asks me to shoot their family for Christmas it just puts a knot in my stomach, it’s not fun anymore.

    On another note, your mom left me a comment the other day about our beef marinade and how much she liked it. I haven’t figured out a way to respond to her, so please extend my thanks to her and I’m so happy that you all liked it! It is my our household favorite and we are actually using it tonight as well.

  14. Hi, I came by through foodgawker and I love your story! I am shocked that you are 14! You have a gift with writing and photography that I am sure you will go far with.
    I felt exactly the same way when I was your age. I was just telling my husband this morning that I was never one of those kids who knew exactly what they wanted to be. I wanted to be a student forever.
    I eventually learned that you dont have to pick just one thing. You will find that you can squish several interests into one dream job. If there is someone you admire find out how they got to where they are now. It is always inspiring to know that your role models had to build from the ground up too.
    Good luck!

  15. Definitely going to be making these! Where did you get your size 50 cookie scoop? Do you have a variety of cookie scoop sizes that you use?

    • Lindsey- Thanks! I got my cookie scoop at a local bakery supply store. The only other scoop I own is a size 16; it’s great for chocolate chip cookie dough or for making any large cookies.

  16. Wow, those cookies look amazing! And don’t worry about the career thing. I have no clue what I want to be! I agree with you about the baking only being a hobby thing. To me it’s more of a hobby than a career option because I don’t think I could do it every single day!

  17. Ooohhh…I’ve made these cookies before and I loved them too! Don’t worry about not knowing what career path to choose- I’m going to uni next year and I’m STILL not sure what I want to do. I spent ages flicking through all the brochures, reading about all the different courses and careers but found all of them boring so in the end I just chose all the courses which had some relation to food and I’ll see what happens from here….Like you, although I love food, I can’t see myself working full time in a professional kitchen =)

  18. These look great! Love the variations – chili flakes in keeping with the holiday theme!
    Questions: How far apart do you need to space the cookies/how many to a cookie sheet?
    Also, how much in advance do you think you could prepare and still serve them tasty (at a holiday party)
    Thanks! Looking forward to baking up a storm!

    • Hi Hillary – I had about 2 inches between each cookies, and could fit about 8 to a sheet. (They don’t spread very much). As for making them ahead of time, they keep pretty well – up to a week in an airtight container. I hope you enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

