bittersweetbaker

A New Favorite-Gingersnaps

In Cookies on May 8, 2010 at 8:11 am
From Adriana Baking

Whether you play an instrument, have a talent singing, love to run, or know how to make the best fudgy brownies, these activities require practice.  You can’t pick up your violin or sit at your piano weeks after forgetting to practice and expect to play just as well as  you did before. You can’t get up one day weeks after taking a break from your daily running routine and expect to be just as fit. And you definitely can’t abandon a recipe for some time and expect to pull it off just as well as you did before.

Up until a couple months ago, I had the recipe for perfect chocolate chip cookies.  They were a dark golden color, were perfectly round, and they were chewy. Their edges were crisp, and best best of all, they had beautiful cracks in them. In February, when my friend E. caught a cold, and a couple of my other friends and I decided to make her some chocolate chip cookies, they all turned to me for the recipe.

Confident that they would be perfect, we set out to make them in my friend T.’s kitchen.  She didn’t have measuring spoons and only had the spreadable kind of butter in a container. Glad that we were neighbors, I ran out to my house to get everything we needed.

Half way through the baking process, I peeked in the oven to make sure they were doing all right. These cookies normally start to spread out after the first few minutes, but there they were, in the oven,  solid, already-browned balls of dough.  Luckily, I always test one cookie in the oven first, so in the next batch I flattened the dough balls a little. They still were not the beautiful moderately flat and cracked cookies they were in previous batches.

From Adriana Baking

We ended up taking the cookies to my friend E.’s house anyway, because they did taste good. But to me, baking is about looks too. This is why I spent the next few weeks making the same batch of cookies over and over, this time at my house. And they still stubbornly refuse to crack.

I have moved on to new recipes, trying everything from cookies that are supposed to be chewy and cracked, to soft chocolate chip cookies.  And I have played and experimented with my recipe so many times. I think I might have found the recipe, but I need to test it again before I share it with you.

As you can imagine, I was extremely relieved when these gingersnap cookies cracked. I even did a little dance across the kitchen. They are the most beautiful cookies I have ever made. Like Elissa from 17 and Baking suggests, I rolled them in Demerara (raw) sugar, which makes them sparkle in the sunlight. Because they are so pretty and have the texture of a perfect chocolate chip cookie, I might try to make them again, substituting chocolate chunks for the spices.

Recipe from 17 and Baking:

Perfect Gingersnaps
Makes 5 dozen 2″ cookies

2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cloves
Pinch of salt
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup molasses
3/4 cup canola oil
1 large egg
Sugar for rolling (I used demerara sugar)

Whisk together the flour, baking soda, spices, and salt in a medium bowl. In another bowl, combine together the brown sugar, molasses, canola oil, and egg until smooth. Mix the flour mixture into the brown mixture, stirring until dough comes together. Cover with plastic wrap and chill for 20 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line baking sheets with parchment paper. Scoop up bits of dough by the heaping teaspoonful and roll into balls between your palms, about the size of a quarter. Roll the balls in sugar and place on the baking sheets 2 inches apart. Bake 8 minutes – if you like crispy gingersnaps, try 9-10 minutes.

Cookies will be very soft but will firm up. Leave on the baking sheet several minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

From Adriana Baking

The dough calls to be chilled, but ever since my chocolate chip cookies have refused to crack, I have developed the habit of testing the dough before and after chilling. To the left is the dough after it was chilled, (no cracks), and to the right, before it was chilled.

  1. […] 8 May 2010: I have made these biscuits many times but another similar recipe (Bittersweet Baker – Perfect Gingersnaps) suggests that the balls of biscuit dough are rolled in sugar crystals before baking to give a […]

  2. Hi Adriana! I’m so excited to find you blog =]
    I’m a teen too (although I’m a few years older than you) so I love finding other teen food bloggers =]

    These cookies looks gorgeous- I love the sugar coating and they cracked so beautifully too! I also love your photography 😉

  3. Hello!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 And YAY for teenaged bloggers. you just KNOW we are soo much cooler 😉

  4. I like the above conversation go teen bloggers! I know what you mean though with finding the perfect recipe, I had that experience with a brownie recipe I posted some months ago on the blog and it was awesome now it doesn’t work and I have tried it multiple times so I know what you mean. These cookies look awesome though, the sugar does add a nice look to it!

  5. Haha. Another teen blogger here! Gorgeous cookies! Were they crispy though? Like crunchy and wonderfully crisp? I have a thing for crunchy things.

    • Hi Christine! Thank you!

      I, unlike you, am not so fond of crispy cookies, so I under baked mine a little. If you like them crisp, go ahead and bake them a couple minutes more, a total of 10 minutes.

  6. Hi,Ada
    I LOVE ginger snaps!!
    Maybe some time I can make them.:)

  7. Hi Adriana!
    Thanks so much for your lovely comment on my blog =) It means alot to know that there are people out there appreciating and taking the time to read my blog. Oooh, can’t wait for summer (two.more.weeks.) Promise me you’ll post an awsome summer recipe for smoothies or something! And your cookies look amazing (they are delicious, arn’t they?) I ended up dipping a couple of the gingersnaps in chocolate (yum). I love the look of a crackly sugar crusted cookie top.

    • Hi Lisa!
      I love your blog; that’s why I left a comment!
      I will definitely post a summer drink recipe.
      Now that I have an ice cream machine, I feel like so many doors have been opened for me, and that I can try so many different kinds of desserts with it.
      Dipping the gingersnaps in chocolate sounds like a very good idea. . .

  8. […] The gingersnap recipe can be found on one of my earlier post, here. […]

  9. […] My friend E – was at home sick, and T- suggested we bake something for her.(I wrote about it here once before). Somewhere along the way, something must have gone wrong. It might have been the fact […]

Leave a Reply

