bittersweetbaker

Colin’s Homestyle Corn Dogs

In Savory on April 1, 2010 at 7:46 am
From Adriana Baking

Last summer, while we were visiting our friends, we stopped by a little candy store packed full of all sorts old fashioned treats.  There were Moon Pies, meter long sticks of bubblegum, huge gummy bears, and the old Charlie and the Chocolate Factory playing in the back of the store.  We all loved the place so much, we decided to go back there every year when we visit them.

I love  making up traditions every year.

Most foods that I eat bring me back some place in time.  Baby back ribs scream the 4th of July, and the taste of a grape Popsicle brings back the very feel of a hot summer’s day.  Every year for my birthday, I ask my father to make corn dogs.  It’s a tradition that has been in our family for  years now.  He will get out the big frying pan and fill it with oil, then cut up each hot dog so that it is half the size of  commercial ones.  We also have root bear floats for dessert, and my mother makes homemade sushi.

From Adriana Baking

Homemade sushi

My sister’s birthday is just a week before mine, and she asks for corn dogs every year too. We thought it would be too repetitive to make corndogs for my birthday a couple days later, so this year, it’s enchiladas.

Below is the recipe that my father makes every year. In my opinion, homemade corndogs are the best.

From Adriana Baking

(I know corndogs have nothing to do with baking, but I thought that the recipe would be an interesting one to share).

Colin’s Homestyle Corndogs

(My father combined recipes from lots of different sources, none of which he remembers).

Dry ingredients
1 3/4 cup instant polenta or cornmeal
1/2 cup  flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt

wet
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup and two tablespoons light brown sugar
1 1/2 to 2 cups milk (to correct thickness)

Liter or so of vegetable oil for deep-frying or to fill a skillet several centimeters.

10-20 hotdogs, frankfurters, whole or cut in whatever length is preferred.
Wooden sticks for handles (popsicle sticks).

The batter is as for simple corn muffins.

Separately mix the dry ingredients, making sure there are no lumps, and mix the wet ingredients using 1 1/2 cups milk.  The sugar does not have to be completely dissolved, but should not have large lumps.  Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, mixing thoroughly to prevent dry pockets, but do not mix excessively.  The mixture will thicken; add more milk as necessary.

Have all the hotdogs ready with handles, and heat the oil to 375 F.  Fill a drinking glass with batter for dipping.  When the oil is hot, dip dogs one by one and immediately place gently in the oil.  The batter should be thick enough to make a generous coating, but thin enough to stick. Getting the batter to coat properly is the tricky part. To get the batter to stick, it should be relatively thin. Fry the dogs until brown, turning once if using a skillet.  Use tongs to remove, drain on paper towels, and eat with mustard.

  1. I love the pictures

  2. My brother eats corndogs all the time so I am going to have my mom try this recipe and I’ll let you know if he liked it!
    -Natalie-

  3. I loved them!!!

Leave a Reply

