bittersweetbaker

Soft Sugar Cookies

In Cookies on March 21, 2010 at 5:55 pm
From Adriana Baking

Sometimes I’ll see a recipe somewhere that I just have to make. I’ll read through the directions, picturing myself measuring out sugar, beating eggs, or folding flour into a batter.  As I would make the recipe in my head, the need to bake that very thing would grow more and more urgent.  

From Adriana Baking

It might be something complicated, like macarons, or time consuming, like puff pastry.  If I’m feeling adventurous, the recipe is unusual; bacon brownies, anyone?   But most times, the recipe is something very simple. Something I haven’t made in a long time, or something I haven’t made at all.

From Adriana Baking

As shocking as it may sound, I had never made sugar cookies before. Oh sure I had tasted them, I had  just never made them.  These Soft Sugar Cookies aren’t really as boring as they might sound to you.  Their simplicity is what makes them so special.  Their delicate crumb, and the hint of lemon flavor that they hold.  Their texture isn’t chewy like Flourless Fugde Cookies, and they aren’t too soft either. They are puffy and fluffy inside.

From Adriana Baking

I would call them just right. Or sugar cookie perfection.

On another note, Happy Mothers’ Day to all the mother out there!

Ashlee’s Famous Sugar Cookies (rewritten from Ashlee’s Year in the Kitchen)

24 tablespoons (2½ sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1½ cups (10.5 ounces) granulated sugar
½ cup (2 ounces) powdered sugar
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
½ teaspoon almond extract
1 tablespoon lemon zest
5 cups (24 ounces) all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

1. Adjust a rack to the middle position and heat the oven to 400F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or use a silicone baking mat.

In the bowl of a standing mixer (or in a large bowl with a handheld mixer), beat the butter and sugars on medium speed for 5 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing until each is incorporated before adding the next. Add the extracts and lemon zest and beat for 10 seconds.  (I didn’t add the almond extract because I didn’t have any, but I’m sure it would be very good). Add the baking powder and salt and beat until combined. With the mixer on low, add the flour 1 cup at a time, mixing for 15 seconds between each addition.

Wrapped tightly in plastic wrap, the dough can be refrigerated for up to a week, or it can be rolled and cut right away (I had to refrigerate it for a couple hours beforehand because it was too soft. I also put it in the fridge between batches baking). Roll out to a thickness of ¼-inch and use a floured cookie cutter to cut desired shapes.

Bake on the prepared sheet for about 7 minutes, until light golden brown on the bottom edges. My first batch of cookies were browning on the bottoms too fast, so I just put another baking sheet below the first.

  1. I really like the pictures!

  2. hi
    those look so good.
    I wanna make some
    I love sugar cookies.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

