bittersweetbaker

Homemade Pasta Tutorial

In Pasta on March 8, 2010 at 4:21 pm
From Adriana Baking

This morning I woke up with plans for the perfect day in my head. I had dreamed all night long about what I would bake and blog about in the morning.

I love making plans for the day with the times all written out, then being a couple of hours ahead of schedule. I still get that happy feeling every time I realize I have a few extra hours to spend. It is sort of like the feeling you get during daylight saving time. A whole extra hour in the day to spend any way you wish!

Homemade pasta was one of those things to blog about on my schedule, better than any store bought pasta you could ever find. It has a kind of airiness to it; it’s light and fresh, and absolutely irresistible. We’ve had it three times in the last couple days, and we are having it again for dinner tonight. Need I say more?

I don’t think I could ever eat store bought pasta again; I’m hooked on this recipe!

The pasta dough is extremely simple to make, but to be honest with you, rolling it out is a pain. Luckily, our neighbors have a pasta machine that resides in our house because we use it much more often than they do, so it helped make the process easier.

If you don’t have a pasta machine, that’s okay, but it’s going to take a little bit more work. You’ll have to hand roll all of the dough.

I took step by step pictures so that you can follow along with me, and really, it is much easier to explain it this way.

I got the recipe off Annie’s Eats, one of my daily reads.

First, crack four eggs into a medium bowl. Try to go with large eggs. I only had two large, and two pretty small ones. Then whisk them until they are well combined. Now that I finally got my hands on some large eggs, I think my chocolate chip cookie recipe might work. (They have been turning out really cakey instead of the usual chewy).

From Adriana Baking

Add 3 1/2 cups of sifted flour, 1 tablespoon of water, and 1 tablespoon of olive oil until a dough begins to form. If your dough is too dry, add more water until you can shape it. I think I added a total of 5 tablespoons of water.

From Adriana Baking

Knead it one to two minutes by hand. . .

From Adriana Baking

It should look something like that. Then cover it with a towel and let it rest for 20 minutes.

Flatten each piece with a rolling pin until it is flat enough to go through the pasta sheet roller at its widest setting. Run the dough through the sheet roller on its widest setting once. Don’t freak out if it looks like this, it will smooth out later on. (I’m so sorry about the gross looking picture, it got too dark so I had to use artificial light. Ughh)!

From Adriana Baking

Roll it through the widest setting until it smooths out a little bit, then toll it through a thinner setting until it smooths out a bit, etc. . . Be sure to constantly flour the dough!

From Adriana Baking

Here is the finished dough:

From Adriana Baking

Flour it well, then roll it up into a roll. . .

From Adriana Baking

Slice it. . .

From Adriana Baking

And unwind it!

There you go, easy homemade pasta. Now all you have to do is boil it for 2-5 minutes, and share it with your friends and family!

We like our pasta at a 5 setting, or a millimeter thick. Any thinner and they cook too fast.

But I’m warning you, like I said before, now that you have tried homemade fresh pasta, you’ll never want to eat that store bought stuff ever again!

Homemade Pasta
Recipe from Annie’s Eats

Yield: approximately 1 1/4 lb. pasta

Ingredients:
4 large eggs
1 tbsp. water, plus more as needed
1 tbsp. olive oil
3 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt

  1. Hi!!! I love those I remember 1 time I ate 1 in 3 minutes only.
    Well I have to eat dinner and Joy wants to make pullapart onion bread.

  2. I’ve been wanting to make fresh pasta for a while now! I just might have to use your recipe as my first exploration into the world of fresh pasta! 🙂

Leave a Reply

